This class will be done in person. Attendance on ALL days for the entire time is mandatory to receive your blue cards.
Registration will be open to those who are 14 1/2 years old by end of class date
If you are soon to be 15 years of age or older and needing to meet the requirements from the State of Minnesota for classroom instruction before taking your permit test this class is for you. The State of Minnesota requires that you successfully complete this mandatory class and be registered for a Behind the Wheel Training Instruction in order to obtain your blue card making you eligible to take your permit test at your local DMV office when you reach the minimum age of 15. Attendance on ALL days for the entire time is mandatory to receive your blue cards. Before signing up for a session make sure your calendar is clear to attend all sessions for their entire length. We encourage students to take the class within six months or less of their 15th birthday. Priority will be given to those students who are within 6 months of their birthday. (Any changes to attending a session once registered will be charged $20 and any cancelations once registered will be charged a $40 cancelation fee – so please plan ahead) Once you have completed the course, reached a minimum of age 15 and passed your permit test you have to drive with parent or guardian for a minimum of 50 hours over a period of no less than 6 months and keep a driving log (15 hours of night driving), complete a six hour Behind the Wheel course and reach age 16 before taking your driver’s test for licensure. Class Fee includes a $20 non-refundable registration fee towards your Behind the Wheel Training and your Behind the Wheel Training will be $260.00 due at time that training starts. (Closer to your 16th birthday)
Parent Classroom Portion: Parents attend a 1 1/2 hour classroom to learn more about the parents role in teen driving, tips on teaching your teen to be a better driver, new Minnesota laws and safety information. Parents attendance at class will reduce the minimum number of mandatory logged driving hours to 40 hours over a period of not less than 6 months. Parent will receive a certificate for completing the class. If your child misses any time during the session they are registered for you may be subject to a rescheduling fee up to $50
If your child misses any time during the session they are registered for you may be subject to a losing your entire class fee. Cancelations less than 7 days in advance may result in the total fee being forfeited. If you know of any conflicts for your child and they won't be able to attend please contact the Community Ed Office as soon as possible at 320-354-1406.
Any changes to attending a session once registered will be charged $20 and any cancelations once registered will be charged a $40 cancelation fee – so please plan ahead
Our next Parent Class Time & Date --TBD Fall 2023 If parent attends the class your child's mandatory logged driving hours are reduced from 50 hours to 40 hours(15 hours must still be night driving).